2022 SkillsUSA Scholarship Recipients

2022 SkillsUSA Scholarship Recipients

2022 Scholarship winners

Each year, SkillsUSA awards members with a variety of scholarships and grants made possible by the generosity of committed partners and friends. Recipients of two of those scholarships for 2022 are listed below, and more will be named leading up to the week of our national conference. Stay connected with skillsusa.org for news on the latest winners, and keep up-to-date with all current scholarship opportunities on our Scholarships and Grants page. Congratulations to this year’s winners, and thanks to our supporters who made these scholarships possible.

Marsha Daves Memorial Scholarship
SkillsUSA is pleased to offer one annual merit-based $1,500 scholarship for college/postsecondary education to a state officer in memory of the legacy left by Marsha Daves, a beloved former national staff member and state director for SkillsUSA Oklahoma. The scholarship will recognize how SkillsUSA student leaders are empowered by the skills they have gained through their association with SkillsUSA to fulfill the mission of becoming world-class workers, leaders and responsible American citizens.

Marley Ray
Midway High School, N.C.

Sharon Melton Myers Memorial Scholarship
Sharon Ruth Melton Myers was an active member of the McMinn County Vocational Center SkillsUSA Chapter from 1985 through 1988, where she represented her school at the local, state and national level. She served as a local officer in 1986 and 1987, Tennessee State Secretary in 1986-87 and National President in 1987-88. She also participated in the Chapter’s Opening and Closing Team in 1986-88. Following graduation from McMinn High School in 1988, Sharon continued as a tireless supporter of SkillsUSA, serving as a National Officer Trainer for several years. This scholarship honors her memory, as her life continues to positively impact SkillsUSA members.

Allison Mi
State College Area High School, Pa.

Emily Webb
Dekalb County Technology Center, Ala.

Fieldpiece #MasteroftheTrade Scholarship
The Fieldpiece #MasteroftheTrade Scholarship was developed in partnership with Fieldpiece Instruments to support the next generation of industry professionals on their journeys toward mastering the awesome HVACR trade. Each award is $2,500 and will directly support the recipient’s college/postsecondary education.

Cole Hamby
Northland Career Center, Mo.

Dave Jentis
Western Technical College, Texas

Jack Ely
TCAT – Chattanooga, Tenn.

Johnny Hammonds
Pinellas Technical College, Fla.

Josh Parish
Kiamichi Technology Center, Okla.

Josh Parson
Bevill State Community College, Ala.

Leslie Plemons
Moore-Norman Technology Center, Okla.

Manuel Ramirez
Western Technical College, Texas

Rebecca “Bec” Thorstad
Hennepin Technical College, Minn.

William “Billy” Coughlin
Career and Technology Center, Md.

Air-Conditioning Heating and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) Clifford T. Rees Scholarship
The Clifford H. “Ted” Rees, Jr. Scholarship Foundation, an AHRI Charitable Foundation, in partnership with SkillsUSA, is proud to offer multiple one-time, merit-based $2,500 scholarships to SkillsUSA members. The scholarship is intended to provide post-secondary tuition support for students pursuing post-secondary education/training in HVACR.

William “Billy” Coughlin
Career and Technology Center, Md.

Justin Martin
Pontotoc Technology Center, Okla.

Rebecca “Bec” Thorstad
Hennepin Technical Institute, Minn.

David Vinson
Withlacoochie Technical Institution, Fla.

Larry Rash Memorial Scholarship
In partnership with SkillsUSA, the Larry Rash Memorial Scholarship Fund will provide a $2,500 scholarship award to the SkillsUSA national high school gold medalist in Architectural Drafting and a second $2,500 scholarship will be awarded to the applicant who best demonstrates their commitment to a career in Architectural Drafting via an online application, as determined by SkillsUSA.

Recipient 1 (National Gold Medalist-HS-Architecture):
Felix Torres
McFatter Technical College and High School, Fla.

Recipient 2 (Selected Applicant):
Jackson Plante
Auburn Career Center, Ohio