Presidential CTE Scholars Include SkillsUSA Members

Presidential CTE Scholars Include SkillsUSA Members

The U.S. Department of Education announced the 55th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars, which for the fourth year includes students in career and technical education (CTE) fields. SkillsUSA members receiving the award:

  • Ian Henry Carnate Acosta of Waipahu High School in Hawaii
  • Megan Elizabeth Brown of Shawsheen Valley Technical High School in Massachusetts
  • Sonia Purohit of the Academy for Health and Medical Sciences in New Jersey

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars honors scholars annually based on academic success, essays and school transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. In all, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program cited 161 high-school seniors for their accomplishments in academics, the arts and CTE.

Created in 1964, the program has honored almost 7,500 of the nation’s top-performing students with the prestigious award given to honorees during an annual ceremony in Washington. In 2015, the program was expanded to recognize students who demonstrate accomplishment in CTE fields. To see a list of the career and technical education 2019 Presidential Scholars, go to: www.ed.gov/news/press-releases/161-students-across-country-named-2019-us-presidential-scholars.